I NEED YOUR HELP

Tomorrow will begin my journey toward credit card freedom.  Up to this point, online shopping has been my financial downfall.  When I receive my credit card statements, I just want to cry.  Let me provide some background for you.  I grew up in a home where money was tight. My father was and still is a military man, and mother sewed in a factory for basically peanuts a day.  They both sacrificed greatly so that my brother and I could have certain things, but we had to save to  buy.  My father was a not a credit card man, and he was and still is a penny pincher.  My brother inherited my dad’s sense of saving; I, unfortunately, did not.  Now, my brother will wear his jeans and sneakers until they literally fall off.  I, on the other hand, cannot do that.  As I have mentioned in my other posts, I LOVE clothing but am ADDICTED to shoes.  So, this journey is not going to be easy for me.

In college, I was great.  I did not have a lot of money, but I did work odd and end type jobs.  I used a credit card, but I NEVER put anything on it that I could not immediately pay off.  I only started my debt collection once I married my husband.  I love the man with all my heart, but he too is a spender.  Unlike my father, he never discouraged my use of credit cards, because he too used them.  He came from a family where saving was not stressed.  If they wanted something, they bought it.  Well, what wife would not love that philosophy?  So, I dug my hole, and let me tell you, it is now fairly deep.

So, my big challenge is now digging my way out.  I am going to try as hard I can not to use my credit cards, especially for online shopping.  I have basically unsubscribed myself from all of my favorite sites, such as 6pm.com, zulily.com, and any other site that sends me constant reminders that they have shoes on sale!  I did still keep my Old Navy alerts; that’s where I buy most of my kids’ clothing.  And, their 40% off everything you buy deal is too good to pass, no matter how much I have to put on my card.  Plus, it’s like everything else–small steps at first.

So, today, I did pre-order on Amazon the Monsters Inc. 3-D DVD.  We do have a 3-D TV–purchased on credit–and we bought it figuring that with the cost of taking the four of us to the movies, we would save huge in the long run.  Anyway, when my oldest daughter was two, Monster’s Inc. was her absolute favorite movie.  My husband and I would recite it every time she watched it.  So, I did have to make that purchase today.

Starting tomorrow, I may need to blog A LOT!!!!  I am going to need BIG support in my quest to cut down on my credit card use.  I don’t want to buried in debt, but unfortunately, I have made some very poor financial choices.  Now, I must sacrifice and suffer.  So, please, don’t allow me to suffer alone.  Feel free to comment, even if it is critical!  I NEED it.  Thank you in advance for reading my posts and contributing to my financial well-being.

 

DEIDEI

One thought on “I NEED YOUR HELP

Leave a Reply

