Home Shows and Parties–Why I Could Never be Successful

When it comes to trying at-home ways to make money, I have attempted it all.  However, I was unsuccessful with every venture.  You know why?  I liked all of the products I was selling; in fact, I liked them TOO much.  I need to sell something like car parts or batteries, something I care nothing about.  My friends will say, “if you’re looking for a part-time job, apply at Kohl’s.”  Sure, then I would spend the money I make there and even more.  Here’s what happened when I tried at-home parties.

I began with The Body Shop at Home.  The products included everything they sell at The Body Shop stores, except, in order to make money, you either had to hold catalog shows or travel to people’s homes.  However, when you held home parties, you yourself, had to foot the bill for all the supplies used at the parties.  So, in the end, I was just breaking even.  On top of that, with my 25% discount, I was buying body butter and make- up like crazy.  So not only was I breaking even–I was flat out losing money.  I don’t think I have the personality for this type of business.  Plus, I guess you get out of any business what you put in.  With a full-time job and two kids, I just did not have the time to invest a great deal. Needless to say, I gave up The Body Shop business.  I loved the products, but I was spending way more than I was making.  Can it be done?  I’m sure it can.  But, I had to realize I was not the person who was going to make a whole lot of money with this business.

So, next a friend of mine convinced me to start selling Mary Kay.  She told me that even if I did not host one party, as long as I met my amount, I could purchase anything from Mary Kay at 50% off retail price.  Good deal?  You bet.  But, again, too good of a deal.  I stopped selling Mary Kay about two years ago,and I still have stocked up products!  Then, my friends wanted me to start selling them the product at my 50% off discount.  So, another failed attempt at a home-business venture.  Please do not misunderstand; I love Mary Kay products,  But, I was putting more on my Mary Kay credit card than I was making.  So, it just wasn’t worth it for me.  I know plenty of women who are disciplined and even make a living selling Mary Kay products.  I did not host any shows; all of my sales were catalog sales.  So, if I would have gotten into the home shows, I would have had to purchase that product as well.

Lastly, my neighbor convinced me to sell Avon under her.  Her husband had lost his job, and she was trying to move up the ranks in Avon.  She only needed 2 more people to meet her quota and earn her bonus.  So, what did I do?  I signed up!  I put in a few orders, but nothing major.  It seems that everyone sells Avon.  And again, people at work and friends wanted me to sell the products at cost.  Plus, even though I am not a huge fan of Avon’s make-up, I do like some of their jewelry, clothing, and other items. So, I found myself in the same predicament.  I was definitely spending way more than I was earning.

When I tried to quit Avon, the person above me came back and said, “What if you stay on and just buy products for yourself at discounted prices?”  Do you think I could refuse?  Of course not!  So, I am a horrible businesswoman!  I have a great deal of respect for those women who are successful with businesses such as Mary Kay, Avon, Silpada, Cookie Lee,  Lia Sophia, Pampered Chef,  and any other business with great products.

I certainly was not cut out for an at-home sales business.  I tried quite a bit, but I was not able to make anything work.  I guess I just cannot refuse a good price when I see one.

One thought on “Home Shows and Parties–Why I Could Never be Successful

Leave a Reply

