Christmas Cards–What Do You Think?

My husband and I are having a disagreement about Christmas cards.  I feel that less and less people are sending them.  But, he insists that we put together some sort of family photo card to send.  I am going to explain some of my issues and see what others think.

When my girls were babies, toddlers, and up to about seven, I would think of clever ways to display them on photos for Christmas cards. At that point, they were growing and changing so much over the years, so I did feel the need to share their photos with family and friends.  However, now that they are older and my husband posts pictures on Facebook, I really don’t see the need to make them pose for a picture and try to outdo last year’s photo.  My 10-year-old hates photos, and putting the 8 and 10-year-old side by side for even two minutes ends in some sort of tussle.

One year, I received so many photo cards that I decided I would start the tradition of making a photo album each year from all the cards I received.  I am now up to FIVE packed photo albums from Christmas photo cards.  So, I started to wonder:  Do others feel the same way I do?  Do others start to wonder where they are going to store all of these photos?  Don’t get me wrong; I do love seeing the pictures, but finding storage for them year after year is becoming cumbersome.  And I could never bring myself to throw away a photo of a friend or family member.  So, what do we do with all of the cards as we collect them?

Do people just send them because they are expected?  How do the rest of you feel about this?  I know last year we sent Happy New Year cards, but with the expense of postage, I truly just do not feel like doing it.  I am not a Scrooge, but this is one holiday tradition I would like to give up.  My husband says he will do it–sure, like that’s going to happen.  So, I guess since I don’t want to do it; he does and says he will, I should just ride it out and see what happens.  What are the rest of you planning to do?

DEIDEI

One thought on “Christmas Cards–What Do You Think?

Leave a Reply

