Those Planned “I’m Not Leaving The House Today” Moments NEVER Work Out For Me!

Today was one of those days that I did not have anything planned until 6:00p.m., and even that was just a small task.  My youngest daughter has a sleepover party tonight, and she has to be there for 6:00.  Other than that, my day was free, and I planned to stay in my PJ’s as long as I could.  I should have known it was too good to be true.

At 10:00 a.m., my husband poked his head in the door and said, “Look, I know you had nothing on your agenda, but I am about to change that.”  Just what I wanted to hear!  Anyway, about two weeks ago, my husband and daughter were hit by a teen driver, so for the past two weeks, we have been driving a rental car.  The company called today to tell us that our car was finished and ready for pick up.  So, that meant we had to first return the rental car and then head for our own car, figures the trip included two opposite directions.  To add to it, the oldest comes in with her flute to tell us that her B key is broken.  So, now, we had to return the rental car, pick up our own car, and head to the music store to drop off the flute for repair.  

I had to spring into ready mode.  I hate those moments when I think I will be able to move at my own pace, but then, all of a sudden, that pace is greatly increased.  That was my morning today.  So, I dressed and quickly made myself look presentable to go outside the house.  We first headed in the direction of the rental company to drop off the rental car; that was about 30 minutes West of our home.  Then, we proceeded about 15 minutes up the road to the music store.  Of course the instrument repair man is on vacation, so the flute will only be ready after the New Year.  After leaving the music store, we then had to head East for about an hour to pick up our fixed car.

Finally I am home, but it is too late to enjoy my “I am not leaving the house today” mentality/mode.  The damage is done.  So, I guess I will find something to busy myself.

Leave a Reply

