WHO WOULD HAVE GUESSED?

Well, I am trying to hold true to my word by attempting to write at least once a day. Today’s topic concerns my journey to clear my house of clutter once and for all while also attempting to make a few bucks while doing so. My younger daughter is a soccer player, and her team is planning a trip to Europe–France, Belgium, and the Netherlands specifically–in two years. After attending the meeting a few nights ago, that means our family must come up with $14,000 in two years, approximately $3,500 per person. We’re not talking pocket change! So, I decided to purge the house of all unnecessary and unwanted items. Now, my task is to list those items on eBay and hope that at least some of them sell and bring me a bit of profit.

I’m arriving at my point. So, I’ve been working on listing and selling items now for a week or so, and I am so surprised by what sells and what does not. The items that I think will sell for a large sum of money often go for a few bucks or are left unsold. The items that I place on eBay simply as a crap shoot sell for way more than I ever would have imagined. I have been listing on eBay for a long time. I go on a streak; then I take a break. Over those years, I have read numerous articles about what to sell, what to look for at thrift shops and yard sales, etc. But, I think I have come to the conclusion that it’s really just a roll of the dice. Who’s on eBay this particular week? What are those people looking to purchase or collect? Right now, my highest selling item, the item that’s received more bids than any other is a Strawberry Shortcake Raspberry Tart monkey pet figurine that was once paired up with a Danbury Mint porcelain doll. I donated the doll herself to charity because the dolls were not profitable on eBay. However, I found the monkey figure lurking on a shelf in my room, so I thought, “Why not?”

Well, it’s a good thing I threw that item out there. I guess there is merit to the articles we read about making money online with eBay. I just wonder how well we can actually plan for what people are going to want and when. My journey will continue, for the amount of money to be raised is quite high! So, if you have any tips you would like to throw my way, I’ll grab my glove!

Dei

Leave a Reply

